The Worst Pitch I’ve Seen in Awhile

The other day at the grocery store I noticed a pre-made cake with the pitch “The Best Chocolate Cake Ever.”  My eyes rolled so much I nearly succumbed to vertigo.  Puh-leaze with a capital leaze, and stick an ‘s’ in front of that for good measure.  What a joke, seriously.  The audacity of some low-level bakery to claim their cake is the best EVER was an immediate turn off.  I did not want to try to cake to see what the best ever cake tastes like because I know it’s a lie, and I don’t want to eat cake from a company that lies so blatantly.

Instead, the headline should have said something about the chocolaty cake.  Is it creamier than others?  Is the chocolate flavor so intense only a few bites will satisfy?  Is it smooth and rich?  Does it melt in your mouth?  Does it crumble all over your plate or stay satisfyingly firm after you slice off a piece?  Tell me something about the actual flavor of the cake, not some douchebag opinion that it’s the best.  Yeah, yeah, everything ever made by a food company is the best, give me a break.

Leave a comment