A Simple Ad Adjustment for Clicks

You may not find yourself clicking on many ads whenever you surf around on Facebook.  Most of the time they are annoying, like a mosquito buzzing near your ear, taking your attention away from what you really want to focus on.  Can you think of any ad that you clicked on lately?  Did it look and feel like an Ad, or was it something bigger?  Was it a product, or a service?  Or was it simply information?

An ad went across my screen that got my click.  It was probably the first ad in years I have clicked on from my Facebook feed.  The ad was directly targeted to me because of my day job.  That was it’s first good step, as the product would be useless if I was in literally any other field.  The brief copy I read spoke directly to my needs, and if I remember correctly, it went something like “generate dozens of leads every month as a X.”  It’s hard to generate leads as a X, so my interest was kindled.  The pitch spoke directly to my pain point, which is, how can I be successful without fresh business?  I then clicked on the “Learn More” button.

The “Learn More” button brought me to a landing page that asked for my email and name, to set me up with the free webinar where I was going to learn about how to generate leads.  Capturing emails and offering free products is standard for competent online businesses, but how can they get people to go to the landing page?  Answer: ads.  That’s obvious enough, but how do you get that ad to work as intended?  Well, “learn more” is a low commitment take action cue.

Instead of the ad going straight for the jugular, like “buy my product for $1000 and get leads fed to you through facebook ads” the advertiser leads you to a trail of crumbs that builds you up to the purchase or reject option.  Once your prospect clicks on ‘Learn More’ they have taken a small action and made a little commitment.  On the landing page they get a second pitch that reveals a little more, but also offers the free product, courtesy of getting your name and email, of course.  This way the guy who is getting the emails knows the emails he captures are actual leads, these people have taken some kind of action.

Lesson learned, give people a very small and innocent noncommital action to take, such as “learn more” and then try to gain their business through 3 or 4 more steps.

Verdict: A – Outstanding pitch where you may end up buying the product.

Justification: Had me click, captured my email, and now I am very likely to buy a product I would have otherwise never known about.  This is how good advertisement works, it brings to your attention a product or service you can’t or won’t seek out on your own, but if pitched properly, you find you may need or want.

Leave a comment